Midlands Carriagedriving

WEBSITE: www.midlandscarriagedriving.co.uk


British Carriagedriving
on Facebook

Another good year for Midlands Carriagedriving
5 December 2018
2018 was another good year for Midlands Carriagedriving (MC), as reported at its AGM and Competitors’ Conference held on 25 November at the LORUS Professional Development Centre in Leicester.

Chairman Dave West commented that 2018 had been a strange year, having had to cancel one early event as the ground was too wet and, later in the year, cancelling another because the ground was too dry, causing serious cracks in the driving areas.

Membership was down – although this appears to be a trend across the country due in part to a more favourable insurance deal for competitors – although entries were similar to 2017 and finances remained sound. There had been a good entry to ensure a fitting farewell to Catton Park in April and Thoresby Park was welcomed back on the competition diary.

August saw MC hosting the first Regional event at Onley Grounds, the same venue being the scene of the club’s championships the following month. The season rounded off well with several members enjoying success at the British Carriagedriving (BC) National Championships and MC awarded the BC Club Points Championship for the second time in three years.

2019 heralds a fabulous new venue in Locko Park, East Derbyshire (June) while the Onley regional event sees the return of the British Young Drivers’ Championship.

MC will be holding various training sessions, kicking off with a Judges’ Workshop on 9 February at Arena UK, Grantham, to which drivers are welcome to attend. For further details visit the MC website: www.midlandscarriagedring.co.uk or email Angela Flanagan at: amflan1@hotmail.com.

Dave West completed his report with a plea for new blood to become involved in running events. Full training and mentoring will be given; for more information contact Dave on: soudley@btinternet.com.

To complete the day’s proceedings, MC President George Spencer presented club championship trophies and points league rosettes to successful competitors while Dave West awarded the Chairman’s Trophy to Emma Burton for all her hard work in keeping the website up to date and assisting with event scoring.

2018 Trophy Winners:
Novice Champion Sandra Jackson
Intermediate Champion Nicola Corby
Open Pony Champion Granville Styler
Pony Pairs Champion Megan Wheeldon
Horse Pairs Champion Clare Marley
Tandem Champion Anne Chambers
Team Champion Angie Smith
Novice Dressage Rosemary Armstrong
Intermediate Dressage Nicola Corby
Open Dressage Granville Styler
Standing Presentation at Club Championships Rosemary Armstrong
Best Marathon at Catton Park Megan Wheeldon
Chairman’s Trophy Emma Burton

2018 Points League Winners:
Pre-Novice Mary Fuller
Novice Sandra Jackson
Intermediate Nicola Corby
Open Pony Granville Styler
Open Horse Gemma Owens
Pony Pairs Emma Burton
Horse Pairs Clare Marley
Tandems Anne Chambers
Teams Angie Smith

Article and trophy winners photo by Wendy Nix/Kingswood Associates


Other Club news stories: